Trouble Installing Thematic Child Theme

Home Forums Using Thematic Child Themes Build Your Own Custom Child Themes Trouble Installing Thematic Child Theme

This topic is: resolved

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Gene (emhr) 2 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

I am new to WordPress, but I have searched up and down for the solution for my problem and no other issue seems to be similar to mine.

I first attempted to write my own child theme and ran into this same problem so I did the following, but the same thing keeps happening, so I don’t know what I am doing wrong.

I copied the “thematicsamplechildtheme” folder info (style.css, readme.txt and functions.php) into my new child theme’s folder in the root level of wp-content/themes just as the readme instructed.

However, when I go to install the theme on my WordPress page it says that the theme is installed by incomplete because the stylesheet is missing.

This is the stylesheet provided with my edits. Again I am completely new to this so it is very possible that I just don’t see something:

Theme Name: EC’s Thematic
    Theme URI:
    Description: A Child Theme Based on Thematic
    Author: Emma Constance
    Author URI:
    Template: thematic
    Version: 1.0
    Tags: white, three-columns, two-columns, fixed-width, theme-options, left-sidebar, right-sidebar, threaded-comments, sticky-post, microformats
    License: GNU General Public License v2.0
    License URI:

The Thematic Theme is copyright Ian Stewart
    This work, like WordPress, is released under GNU General Public License, version 2 (GPL).

/* Reset browser defaults */
    @import url(‘../thematic/library/styles/reset.css’);

/* Apply basic typography styles */
    @import url(‘../thematic/library/styles/typography.css’);

/* Apply a basic layout */
    @import url(‘../thematic/library/layouts/2c-r-fixed.css’);

/* Apply basic image styles */